Why the Jewish Temple was destroyed in AD 70?

The Talmud states:
Why was the First Temple destroyed? Because of three evils in it: idolatry, immorality, and bloodshed.
But why was the Second temple destroyed, seeing that during the time it stood people occupied themselves with Torah, with observance of precepts, and with practice of charity? Because during the time it stood, hatred without rightful cause prevailed. This is to teach you baseless hatred is deemed as grave as  all three sins of idolatry, immorality, and bloodshed together.
B. Yoma 9b

About this time is also written:
“They hated me without reason.”
Jesus in John 15.25 Brit HaChadasha / New Testament, Bible

John 15,18-25: If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first. If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you. Remember the words I spoke to you: ‘No servant is greater than his master.’ If they persecuted me, they will persecute you also. If they obeyed my teaching, they will obey yours also. They will treat you this way because of my name, for they do not know the One who sent me. If I had not come and spoken to them, they would not be guilty of sin. Now, however, they have no excuse for their sin. He who hates me hates my Father as well. If I had not done among them what no-one else did, they would not be guilty of sin. But now they have seen these miracles, and yet they have hated both me and my Father. But this is to fulfil what is written in their Law: ‘They hated me without reason.’

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why the Jewish Temple was destroyed in AD 70?

  1. John Gervasoni says:

    The reason for the destruction of the Temple is because Israel rejected their Savior, King and Bridegroom.. For that reason God divorced His harlot and betrothed himself to an other!

  2. Johnd618 says:

    I think this is one of the most significant information for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on some general things, The web site style is wonderful, the articles is really excellent D. Good job, cheers ebeeecagbfkf

Leave a Reply

